VS2013 An exception occurred while initializing the database

I’m doing a code first Entity database

{“An exception occurred while initializing the database. See the InnerException for details.”}

It was working fine, but I decided to delete the physical database to see it recreate it, but it just fails every time.

I get the error

Cannot attach the file ‘C:\ASP\OdeToFood\OdeToFood\App_Data\OdeToFoodDb.mdf’ as database ‘OdeToFoodDb’.”}

Its code first so I don’t understand why its not recreating the database.

 

 

So deleting the file from Visual Studio was a dumb idea.

SQL still has it registered.

Fire up MS Sql Management Tool, connect to the server in my case

(localdb)\v11.0

You will see the database, still exists, delete it, you will get an error. The file doesn’t exist. Refresh and its gone from SQL. Now run your code again and all is good.

So delete the DB from the management tool not visual studio

Leave a comment